ChatGPT, Ye hardly knew me

Asking a chat bot who you are can be a sobering experience

Steve Genco
6 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Image generated by DALL-E2, “a robot interviews a businessman”

Today I was struck by an uncontrollable urge to find out how much ChatGPT thinks it knows about me. I’ve been reading a lot lately about how chat bots are simply Internet vacuum cleaners with sentence construction algorithms tacked on, so I begin wondering: What would my Artificial Buddy (AB) at OpenAI have to say about me, a minor player in the business and academic worlds, sparsely mentioned here and there in the great wasteland of the Internet, if I should dare to ask it to write my biography?

Aflame with excitement, I headed over to OpenAI.com and prompted ChatGPT to write a biography of one “Stephen Genco”. To make sure I weeded out any imposters and celebrity impersonators, I added my birthday and the city where I was born. What I got back, quickly and fluidly typed out on my screen, was an amazing mishmash of errors and false inferences that could make even George Santos blush. Let’s take a look, paragraph by paragraph.

Stephen Genco is a seasoned business professional with extensive experience in the fields of marketing, branding, and consumer research. He was born in <redacted>, <redacted, on <redacted>, <redacted>.

Not too impressive so far. Maybe it’s just getting warmed up by spitting back what I told it in the…

--

--

Steve Genco

Steve is author of Intuitive Marketing (2019) & Neuromarketing for Dummies (2013). He holds a PhD in Political Science from Stanford University.